Home > Classes/Training > Course Catalog and Registration > Driver training > Mature Driver Classes

For the safety and well-being of participants and instructors, some of our partnering training sites have decided to cancel in-person 55+ (8-hour and 4-hour) Defensive Driver Training. Continue to check back as in-person class schedules will change due to the COVID-19 event.

If you would like defensive driver training now, ONLINE training options are currently available for both the 8-hour and 4-hour classes.

Seasoned Driver Training Programs

Improve your driving skills, and if you're 55 or older, get a discount on your personal auto insurance. The Defensive Driving Course, developed by the National Safety Council, teaches basic crash prevention techniques and has a proven record of reducing traffic violations and incidents. It's taught by experienced, professional traffic safety instructors, including officers of the Minnesota State Patrol. The class consists of lecture, films and discussions. There is no behind-the-wheel driving and there are no tests.

According to Minnesota state law, people age 55 and older who complete a state-approved defensive driving course are eligible to receive a 10 percent, three-year discount on auto insurance.This includes in-person classroom, online training, and live virtual Zoom classes. Contact your insurance agent for details. After you complete the course, you will receive a certificate of completion to give to your insurance company.

8-Hour Initial Courses
Training options include: In-person classroom, online, or live virtual Zoom training.
We offer an 8-hour course (offered over two days, four hours each day) as well as a 4-hour refresher for those who have already taken an 8-hour course. Pre-registration is required. See course schedules for contact phone numbers.

8-Hour Schedules/Training Options
  8-Hour Course Schedule by Date
  8-Hour Online Course

4-Hour Refresher Courses
Training options include: In-person classroom, online, or live virtual Zoom training.
If you have successfully completed a state-approved eight-hour defensive driving course you are eligible to take a four-hour defensive driving course to renew your insurance certificate.
4-Hour Schedules/Training Options
4-Hour Course Schedule by Date
4-Hour Online Course